This Happened On 01/29/1978

In January, 1978, an amendment to the SPC By-Laws providing for the election and installation of deaconesses was overwhelmingly approved by the congregation. The first deaconesses were elected soon after on January 29, 1978 and included Sheila Porter, Sylvia Brooks, Linda Cox and Plum Yancey. The Board of Deaconesses was dissolved when the Reformed Presbyterian Church merged with the Presbyterian Church in America in 1986. A Women in the Church Council was established in its place.